I am an avid Constitutionalist and a vehement supporter of the right to free speech. I believe that everyone has opinions and has the right to voice said opinions. That being said,I do draw a line in the sand I believe that line is crossed when an individual is not using a public forum for his/her expression of voice, but begins seeking out and targeting specific individuals for their verbal barrage of insults that passed logical rhetoric ten miles back and has now turned towards personal, and I mean very personal attacks.

Case in point, I recently came across the post of ^ Reasons to Never Date a Single Mother. While the blog was obviously the work of someone who had either personally had a horrible experience with a single mom, or as he referred to himself a “confirmed bachelor.” Duly noted. Nobody thinks less of you for your personal preferences. Yet it became a bit ridiculous when he began to give his reasons: these women apparently accuse their suitors of molesting their children, these women expect him to fill in for a new daddy, blah blah ad nauseum. That’s all good and fine too. While I disagree, he is entitled to his opinion.

The line was crossed, however,when several women began expressing their personal views and were repeatedly attacked by the cluster of angry men on there. I had one in particular tell me that i should change tampons because he could smell me from where he was. my child was a bastard, and that i didn’t know who the father of the child was. On top of the insults, when asked to provide peer-reviewed articles, he responded that i am unable to think because of my vagina and sent me several inappropriate pictures of women in compromising situations.

I asked him to stop. He wouldn’t. Now one might argue that I am an overly sensitive female who cannot verbally defend herself. Yet, that is not the case. If you want, please go and read the blog with the 806 comments. I gave as good as i got. But after the pics were sent to me, i thought to myself,” why should this be okay?” You wouldn’t send a picture of Auschwitz to a Jew or a pic of a lynch mob hanging a black man to a black person. So why is it okay to send pictures of compromised females to a woman.

Any normal comments would be appreciated. I do not mind a good debate, and i don’t mind differing opinions. I do mind resorting to name calling when your arguments just are not there. And i suppose that’s the easiest thing for the non creative person to do – I mean, what’s easier than calling a female a whore, right?

“When we talk about equal pay for equal work, women in the workplace are beginning to catch up. If we keep going at this current rate, we will achieve full equality in about 475 years. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait that long.”

 -Lya Sorano

 

 

